Restaurant POS for Adelaide venues
Restaurant POS in Adelaide: A$45 a month or A$449 once, beside published prices
A restaurant POS with a floor plan, kitchen display, coffee modifiers, split bills and stock counts: A$45 a month with us hosting it, or A$449 once for a self-hosted licence with the source code.
From A$45 a monthexcl. GSTSee pricing →
Watch the walkthrough- ★ 4.9 on Google (76 reviews)
- 200+ projects since 2017
- Top Rated on Upwork
Founder-led delivery
Overview
Codingclave is an India-based team with no Adelaide office, so nobody comes onsite; we're on WhatsApp and video calls from 3pm to midnight in Adelaide, Monday to Saturday, through Friday and Saturday dinner. POSmate, Access POS and SwiftPOS publish no price, so the table below sets ours beside the suppliers that do.
By Ashish Sharma, founder · Updated 6 October 2026
- A$45 a month, hosted by us
- A$449 once, source code included
- Parallel test shift before go-live
- WhatsApp 3pm–midnight ACDT, Mon–Sat
Quick answer
What does a restaurant POS system cost in Adelaide, and who sells one locally?
For one dine-in restaurant, vendor-published POS software runs from A$792 a year (POSApt Hospitality, A$66 a month inc GST) to A$2,220 (POSApt with online ordering). TapTouch Free Start costs A$0 but publishes no card terms, and a third-party estimate puts Lightspeed as high as A$4,488 a year. Square Plus is A$1,548 over 12 months per location. POSmate, Access POS and SwiftPOS quote on request. Ours is A$45 a month hosted (A$540 a year), or A$449 once for a licence you run on your own server. Terminal, card fees and hardware sit on top of every option.
- Only POSmate lists an SA postal address, a PO box in Athelstone; YumaPOS's Adelaide page gives a Perth address.
- Over 24 months: Square Plus A$3,096, TapTouch Smart Growth A$1,821.60, POSApt Hospitality A$1,584, ours A$1,080 hosted.
- No eftpos, Mastercard or Visa surcharges from 1 October 2026, so the terminal's rate comes out of margin.
- Demo video on this page; live demos on a video call, booked Monday to Saturday between 3pm and midnight in Adelaide (2pm–11pm from April).
Watch the demo
See the software working
A full walkthrough recorded on our live system. It was filmed on our Indian demo set-up, so any prices on screen are in rupees; Australian prices are the A$ figures on this page.
Get the login on WhatsApp first, then open the demo. No sign-up needed.
Local snapshot
Adelaide at a glance
Areas we work with
- Adelaide CBD
- Gouger Street
- Rundle Street
- Norwood
- Unley
- Prospect
- Glenelg
- Port Adelaide
- Barossa
- McLaren Vale
01of 10
Adelaide restaurant POS prices as a 12- and 24-month bill (October 2026)
For one Adelaide restaurant, vendor-published POS software costs A$792–A$2,220 a year inc GST; ours is A$540 hosted. Among pages ranking for Adelaide POS searches, only TapTouch publishes plan prices, so we added POSApt, Square and a Lightspeed estimate, plus an ex-GST column for GST-registered venues that claim the tax back.
| Plan | Monthly as published | 12 months inc GST | 24 months inc GST | 12 months ex GST | What's not included |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TapTouch Free Start | $0 + GST | A$0 | A$0 | A$0 | Card terms aren't on the pricing page; ask for them |
| TapTouch Smart Growth (QSRs) | $69 + GST (A$75.90) | A$910.80 | A$1,821.60 | A$828 | EFTPOS, hardware |
| TapTouch Pro Power (dine-in, multi-location) | $165 + GST (A$181.50) | A$2,178 | A$4,356 | A$1,980 | EFTPOS, hardware |
| POSApt Hospitality POS | A$66 inc GST | A$792 | A$1,584 | A$720 | Card rates "from 0.99%" |
| POSApt POS + Online Ordering | A$185 inc GST | A$2,220 | A$4,440 | A$2,018 | Card rates as above |
| Square Plus | A$129 per location; GST basis not stated | A$1,548 | A$3,096 | Not stated | 1.6% in-person card rate |
| Square Free + one kitchen display | A$25 per display; GST basis not stated | A$300 | A$600 | Not stated | 1.6% card rate, display hardware |
| Lightspeed, third-party estimate | $40–$340 + GST | A$528–A$4,488 | A$1,056–A$8,976 | A$480–A$4,080 | Estimate dated 23 Aug 2026; Lightspeed's page blocked our check |
| Codingclave hosted | A$45 a month | A$540 | A$1,080 | A$540 | Terminal, hardware; delivery apps checked before you pay |
| Codingclave licence + our hosting | A$449 once + A$80–A$240 a month | A$1,409–A$3,329 | A$2,369–A$6,209 | A$1,409–A$3,329 | Terminal, hardware |
| Codingclave licence, self-hosted | A$449 once | A$449 | A$449 | A$449 | Your own server and IT; for venues that already have one |
| Quote only: POSmate, Access POS, YumaPOS, SwiftPOS, OrderMate, H&L, Impos | Not published | – | – | – | – |
The Best POS System Australia Adelaide guide (modified 22 Sep 2026) puts entry plans at $60 to $120 a month ($1,440 to $2,880 over 24 months) and advanced ones at $120 to $250+.
With eftpos, Mastercard and Visa surcharges gone, your terminal's card rate can outweigh the software line; see card fees and 3- and 5-year totals, or send us your current plan on WhatsApp for your own 12-month bill.
02of 10
Who sells point of sale systems in Adelaide: addresses, phones and what they sell
Nearly every result for "point of sale systems Adelaide" has Adelaide in its title; far fewer have it in their contact details. This is what each supplier's own page showed in October 2026.
| Supplier | Contact shown | What it mainly sells | Prices published? |
|---|---|---|---|
| POSmate | PO Box 132, Athelstone SA 5076; 1300 76 76 88 | Multi-brand reseller; says it is a certified Lightspeed Restaurant specialist | No |
| Access POS | "Adelaide SA 5000", (08) 6388-1118; Perth suburbs in the footer | NCR Aloha, cash registers; set-up and 12 months' support included, per its site | No |
| YumaPOS | Level 1/140 St Georges Tce, Perth WA | Hospitality POS on "flat-rate EFT" | No |
| TapTouch | National; no Adelaide contact | Hospitality POS plans | Yes, on its pricing page |
| SwiftPOS (Oolio) | National; no Adelaide contact | Clubs, stadiums, multi-site groups | No |
| OrderMate | Lists Adelaide among its locations | Restaurant POS | No |
| H&L and Impos | Not checked for this page | Both ranked in the Adelaide guide | By quotation, per that guide |
| FoodChow | Indian WhatsApp number (+91) | POS with online ordering | No AUD prices |
| Codingclave (us) | Lucknow, India; WhatsApp, email, video; no Adelaide office, staff or ABN | Our own restaurant POS | Yes |
A PO box or an 08 number tells you where mail goes, not who turns up when the printer dies on a Saturday night, so ask each supplier who comes out. Our answer is nobody. What you get instead is a video call through Friday and Saturday dinner and an outage plan written before go-live.
03of 10
What A$45 or A$449 gets you, what we check first, and what we don’t do
The POS runs the floor, the kitchen and the counter. Payments, delivery apps and hosting depend on your set-up, so we check them against your venue.
In the software now
Floor plan and tables, send-to-kitchen with a kitchen display and aging timers, modifiers for coffee size, milk and extra shots, split and merged bills, menu categories, stock counts and sales reports.
Checked against your venue before you pay anything
- Your EFTPOS terminal (Tyro, Square, Zeller or a bank terminal)
- Uber Eats and DoorDash orders
- GST codes and BAS-ready reports
- What happens when the internet drops
- The hosting region for the A$45 plan
- A holiday surcharge line on a timer
Each answer goes into your quote, so anything that doesn't suit you shows up before you pay, not after go-live.
Not offered
Onsite installs, hardware swaps and call-outs, Sunday support, wine-club and membership tools, and terminal rental or merchant accounts, which come from your bank or payment provider.
Cloud or licence? The A$45 plan is cloud POS that we host, update and bill monthly. The A$449 licence includes the source code and runs on a server you control; ownership and audit trails are covered nationally. Menulog shut down in Australia in November 2025, so it isn't on our list (what changed).
Not sure it fits your venue?
Ask Ashish on WhatsApp and get a straight answer.
04of 10
POS hardware for an Adelaide venue: what to buy and what to reuse
We sell no hardware. The POS runs on touch tablets, POS terminals, desktops and laptops, and the demo is where we test your devices. With 539 SA cafés and restaurants closing in 2024–25, many venues change hands with kit on the counter, so check it before counting it as free. Kit prices are on the national hardware list.
| Item | What it does | Before you reuse one |
|---|---|---|
| Tablet or touch PC | Counter and table orders | Still gets updates; battery lasts a full service |
| 80mm receipt printer | Bills and receipts | Note the model and connection (USB, network, Bluetooth) for the demo |
| Kitchen printer or screen | Orders to the pass | Printers must cope with heat and grease; mount screens clear of splashes |
| Cash drawer | Cash takings | Most open from the receipt printer; check the cable |
| Standalone EFTPOS terminal | Cards, including during outages | One left by the last owner is usually rented under their merchant agreement |
05of 10
Adelaide venue types and what each one needs the POS to do
South Australia had 2,957 cafés and restaurants in June 2025, plus 1,894 takeaways and 643 pubs, taverns and bars (ABS). 92% of those cafés and restaurants have fewer than 20 staff, and 620 opened in 2024–25, so most venues choosing a POS run small rooms and many are new. Council counts below include accommodation.
Gouger Street and Chinatown banquet rooms
Around the Adelaide Central Market, trading since 1869 with 70+ traders and open to 9pm on Fridays, big tables order set menus. Build each banquet as one item with fixed courses and split the bill by family or couple. If your kitchen sends courses one at a time, ask to see that in the live demo.
Rundle Street, Peel Street and Leigh Street bars
Bar trade is repeat rounds at speed. Put your ten best sellers on the first screen and keep modifiers short (spirit, mixer, size). If you run tabs, ask us to open, add to and close one in the live demo.
The Parade, King William Road and Prospect Road cafés
Weekend brunch mixes counter and table orders. Make milk and size required choices so no docket reaches the barista blank, and give counter orders a table number so runners know where food goes.
Jetty Road, Glenelg
Trade swings with summer weather. Set up a short takeaway-window menu and put stock counts on what sells out first, such as fish or soft serve.
Barossa, McLaren Vale and Adelaide Hills cellar doors
The POS covers tasting fees, glass and bottle sales and a café counter. Wine clubs and allocations aren't part of it; custom software for Adelaide businesses covers cellar-door systems.
Pubs and venues with rooms
The front bar and bistro run on the POS like any restaurant. Bookings and housekeeping belong in a property system such as our hotel management software; ask whether room charges can post from the POS, and get the answer in your quote.
| Council | Businesses | Strip to plan for |
|---|---|---|
| City of Adelaide | 951 | Gouger St, Rundle St, Peel St and Leigh St |
| Port Adelaide Enfield | 575 | Port Adelaide |
| Onkaparinga | 367 | McLaren Vale |
| Norwood Payneham & St Peters | 304 | The Parade, Norwood |
| Unley | 245 | King William Rd |
| Holdfast Bay | 180 | Jetty Rd, Glenelg |
| Prospect | 98 | Prospect Rd |
Opening a new venue? Pick "Opening a new venue in SA" on the form and we'll plan go-live around your opening.
06of 10
SA public holidays and the 7pm–midnight part-days: setting your POS for summer 2026–27
In SA, Christmas Eve and New Year's Eve are public holidays only from 7pm to midnight, so a holiday surcharge or price list changes mid-service rather than at opening. Dates run from Christmas to Labour Day 2027.
| Date | Holiday | What to set in the POS |
|---|---|---|
| Thu 24 Dec 2026 | Christmas Eve, 7pm–midnight | Holiday prices or surcharge line on from 7pm; brief the closing manager |
| Fri 25 Dec 2026 | Christmas Day | Holiday prices all day; a short set menu |
| Sat 26 and Mon 28 Dec 2026 | Proclamation Day and its Monday holiday | Load both before Christmas; Sunday 27 is ordinary |
| Thu 31 Dec 2026 | New Year's Eve, 7pm–midnight | Same 7pm switch; a countdown dinner as one item |
| Fri 1 Jan 2027 | New Year's Day | Check holiday prices switch off before Saturday breakfast |
| Tue 26 Jan 2027 | Australia Day | Load it by Saturday close; we don't work Sundays |
| Mon 8 Mar 2027 | Adelaide Cup Day | Last day of WOMADelaide; load it by Saturday |
| Fri 26 – Mon 29 Mar 2027 | Good Friday to Easter Monday, all four days | Load the four days as one block |
| Sun 25 Apr 2027 | Anzac Day (check sa.gov.au for a substitute day) | Outside our hours; load it on the Saturday |
| Mon 14 Jun 2027 | King's Birthday | A shorter holiday menu may be enough |
| Mon 4 Oct 2027 | Labour Day | Pair it with the Rugby World Cup match-day menu |
A menu public-holiday surcharge is your pricing decision: show it on the menu and bill, and check the ACCC's current guidance. Card surcharges are separate; the RBA removed them on eftpos, Mastercard and Visa from 1 October 2026, American Express aside (detail). A 7pm automatic switch in our POS is shown in the demo, not claimed. Dates come from the SA holiday list; check sa.gov.au before loading them.
07of 10
Adelaide’s 2026–27 event peaks, with dates and a POS set-up for each
Most of Adelaide's heaviest nights fall between November and May. Dates are from each event's site or South Australia's events calendar, checked in October 2026. Ask how many extra devices your plan allows before adding tills.
| Dates | Event | POS set-up |
|---|---|---|
| Sat 14 Nov 2026 | Christmas Pageant | CBD cafés: Breakfast menu, takeaway coffee first |
| Four days ending Sun 29 Nov 2026 | bp Adelaide Grand Final (Supercars, formerly the Adelaide 500); concert Sun 29 Nov | East End bars: Short bar menu; finish changes Saturday, as we don't work Sundays |
| 16–24 Jan 2027 | Santos Tour Down Under | Hills, Norwood and Glenelg cafés: Coffee modifiers up front, stock counts on pastries |
| 19 Feb – 21 Mar 2027 | Adelaide Fringe | East End and CBD: Pre-show menu, group split bills, kitchen aging timers |
| 5–8 Mar 2027 | WOMADelaide | Load Adelaide Cup Day prices early |
| 18–21 Mar 2027 | LIV Golf Adelaide | Group tables, split bills |
| Autumn 2027, no date yet | AFL Gather Round | Pubs and bars: Match-day menu once the fixture is out |
| 30 Apr – 9 May 2027 | Tasting Australia | Restaurants, cellar doors: Ticketed dinners as single items |
| 1 Oct – 13 Nov 2027 | Rugby World Cup 2027: six pool matches at Adelaide Oval | Pubs and bars: Match-day menu, extra devices, split bills |
Go live at least two weeks before your first big peak, and never on a Fringe Friday. Staff need a quiet week on a new screen before a busy one.
Not sure it fits your venue?
Ask Ashish on WhatsApp and get a straight answer.
08of 10
EFTPOS down in Adelaide mid-service: a plan to write before it happens
People search "EFTPOS down Adelaide" mid-outage, too late to plan. The fault may be the NBN, the card network or the terminal, and no software removes all three. Write these five things down and pin them by the pass.
A standalone terminal on its own mobile data
One card terminal on its own SIM, not the venue Wi-Fi, so staff can still take payments, with amounts typed on the terminal, when the NBN drops. Ask your provider whether yours has one.
Paper dockets and a printed price list at the pass
Numbered dockets and a laminated price list, modifiers included, keep the kitchen cooking. Reprint it whenever the menu changes.
One named person who calls it
Usually the shift manager, with a time limit, for example three minutes of failed payments.
Cash float rules
Set the Friday and Saturday float, who may take cash, and what you accept when cards fail.
Re-entering manual sales afterwards
After close, enter each docket against how it was paid, so stock and sales match the bank deposit.
Internet-drop behaviour is one of the six checks above; this page doesn't claim an offline mode. YumaPOS and SwiftPOS advertise offline trading, so if your NBN is unreliable, weigh that and ask every supplier, us included, to unplug the router in the live demo.
09of 10
When you can reach us during an Adelaide service week
Our working day is 10am–7pm in Lucknow, Monday to Saturday. On Adelaide clocks that is 3pm to midnight while daylight saving runs, and 2pm to 11pm once it ends on Sunday 4 April 2027.
| Service moment | Now to Sat 3 Apr 2027 (ACDT) | From Sun 4 Apr 2027 (ACST) |
|---|---|---|
| Weekday breakfast and lunch | Outside our hours; we start at 3:00pm | Outside our hours; we start at 2:00pm |
| Afternoon prep and menu edits | From 3:00pm | From 2:00pm |
| Friday and Saturday dinner to close | Until midnight | Until 11:00pm |
| Sunday trade | No cover; your outage plan runs it | No cover |
| Go-live night | After close, by midnight, following a test shift | After close, by 11:00pm |
Friday and Saturday dinner, when a POS fault costs most, sit inside our hours; breakfast, lunch and Sunday trade don't, so the outage plan and a standalone terminal carry those. Against a 9am–5pm day the overlap is two hours now and three from April. Messages sent after we close wait for our next working day; one sent on Saturday night or Sunday waits until Monday. We don't promise reply times.
10of 10
When an Adelaide reseller is the better buy than us
Some venues are better served by a supplier with technicians near Adelaide. Four situations stand out.
You want someone onsite for installs and hardware swaps
If a dead printer at 7pm should mean a technician at the door, buy from a reseller that installs, such as POSmate. We can't send anyone.
Clubs, stadiums and multi-venue groups
Dozens of terminals, central menus and head-office reporting are a different market. SwiftPOS, which claims 6,000+ venues and shows stadium clients on its Adelaide page, is built for it.
You already run NCR Aloha
Access POS lists NCR Aloha on its Adelaide site. Staying on what staff know avoids retraining mid-season.
One contract for terminal, hardware, software and support
We supply software, hosting and set-up only. The terminal comes from your bank or payment provider and hardware from a retailer, so you manage three relationships, not one.
If none of these fits, compare the 12-month bills in the price table above, then tell us about your venue on WhatsApp.
Pricing in AUD
Restaurant POS prices for Adelaide venues
The POS itself has two fixed prices: A$45 a month or A$449 once. Hosting and online ordering are priced within the bands shown, and your exact figure goes into the quote before work starts, along with when and how you pay.
Buy once, self-hosted
A$449one-time
Excl. GSTRestaurant POS — one-time licence with source code (self-hosted) · Pay once
Self-hosted, with the source code and every POS feature above. You supply the server.
Get a quote for this planCloud, monthly
A$45a month
Excl. GSTRestaurant POS — cloud, billed monthly · Ongoing, cancel any time
We host and update the POS for you. The scope of menu set-up is written into your quote.
Get a quote for this plan
Optional extras
Hosting, backups, monitoring and support
Optional for licence buyers without IT staff: we run and look after the server, scope set out in your quote.
Custom restaurant POS + commission-free online ordering
Optional, for venues paying aggregator commission: online ordering on your own website, linked to the POS.
- Fixed price in AUD
- Free scoping call
- No obligation
For a single venue without a server, A$45 a month is usually simpler; the licence suits groups with their own IT. Card processing, the terminal and hardware aren't included. The licence update price after the first period is confirmed in writing for your business before you sign. See commission-free ordering, or Adelaide app developers for a branded ordering app.
Prices are in Australian dollars and do not include GST: Codingclave is an overseas (India-based) supplier and is not registered for Australian GST. If your business is GST-registered, check with your accountant whether the reverse-charge rules apply to imported services.
Fixed AUD quote
Tell us about your Adelaide venue
Send your venue type, suburb, seats and EFTPOS terminal on WhatsApp for a written AUD price, the six checks answered and a live demo slot. To be live two weeks before the Christmas Pageant on 14 November, aim to go live by 31 October, after a parallel test shift.

Ashish Sharma
Founder, Codingclave
Ashish or the team will reply on WhatsApp or email within one business day.
- ★ 4.9 on Google (76 reviews)
- 200+ projects since 2017
- Top Rated on Upwork
- Founder-led delivery
Prefer WhatsApp?
Get demo login on WhatsAppSend your venue details on WhatsApp
The prefilled message asks for venue type, suburb, seats, terminal, delivery apps, current contract and your target date.
Watch the demo, then book a live one
Watch the video here, then book a video-call demo, Monday to Saturday, 3pm until midnight in Adelaide (2pm–11pm from 4 April 2027). Ask us to split a banquet bill and run a tab from open to close.
Get the six checks answered in your quote
Terminal, delivery apps, GST, outage behaviour, hosting region and holiday surcharge, answered before you pay.
Menu, modifiers and floor plan
Send your menu PDF or a POS export. Your quote says who builds categories, modifiers and the table layout, and whether that sits inside the price; you check it before service.
Run a parallel test shift
Ring a quiet weeknight through both systems, then review differences with us on a video call after close.
Go live away from the peaks
Pick a date clear of the event calendar and the 24 and 31 December part-days.
FAQ
Questions Australians ask us
Can’t see yours? Ask Ashish directly — you’ll get a straight answer, not a sales script.
Ask Ashish directly
What is the best POS system for restaurants in Adelaide?
What POS system do most Adelaide restaurants use?
What is the cheapest POS system for a small café in Adelaide?
Which POS companies have an office in Adelaide?
How much is Square POS for an Adelaide café?
What should I do when EFTPOS is down in Adelaide?
Can Adelaide cafés still surcharge card payments after 1 October 2026?
Do I need an Adelaide-based company to install my POS?
Ashish Sharma · Founder
Get your Adelaide venue’s POS price and a live demo time
Send your venue type, suburb, seats and EFTPOS terminal on WhatsApp for a written AUD price, the six checks answered and a live demo slot. To be live two weeks before the Christmas Pageant on 14 November, aim to go live by 31 October, after a parallel test shift.
- Message us on WhatsApp
- Get the demo login and try it
- Get a fixed AUD quote, no obligation
- ★ 4.9 on Google (76 reviews)
- 200+ projects since 2017
- Top Rated on Upwork
- Founder-led delivery
Keep exploring
- Software
Restaurant POS software in Australia: 3- and 5-year costs
- City
Website design prices in Adelaide
- Adelaide
Custom software for Adelaide wineries and businesses
- Industry
Commission-free ordering for restaurants and cafés
- Reviews
Client reviews
- Sydney
Restaurant POS in Sydney
- Melbourne
Restaurant POS in Melbourne
- Brisbane
Restaurant POS in Brisbane
- Perth
Restaurant POS in Perth
Also on codingclave.com (global pages, prices in ₹):

Ashish Sharma
Founder, Codingclave · Updated 6 October 2026
Ashish founded Codingclave in Lucknow, India, in 2017 and still leads delivery on every project.
Sources (12)· public sources cited on this page
- TapTouch – Hospitality POS pricing
- POSApt – Pricing
- Square – Square for Restaurants pricing (Australia)
- Mobile Transaction – POS for restaurants and cafés in Australia
- Best POS System Australia – 5 best POS systems in Adelaide
- POSmate – Point of sale systems, Adelaide
- Access POS – POS System Adelaide
- YumaPOS – POS systems Adelaide
- ABS – Counts of Australian Businesses, June 2025 (data cube 8165DC02, by industry)
- ABS – Counts of Australian Businesses, June 2025 (data cube 8165DC10, by local government area)
- Reserve Bank of Australia – Media release 26-10: card payment costs and surcharging
- PublicHolidays.com.au – South Australia public holidays