Skip to content
CodingclaveAU

Adelaide app development, compared

Adelaide app developers compared, plus iPhone + Android from A$6,900

Codingclave builds an iPhone app and an Android app from one codebase for A$6,900⁠–⁠A$43,000 over 4⁠–⁠12 weeks, with the figure fixed in a written quote before you sign and no GST added.

From A$6,900excl. GSTSee pricing →

  • Fixed AUD price before work starts
  • iPhone + Android, one codebase
  • Store accounts held in your name
  • Test builds on your own phone

Get a fixed price for your iPhone + Android app

  • Free scoping call
  • Fixed price in AUD
  • No obligation

Your details go only to Codingclave's team in India so we can reply — see our privacy policy. Prefer chat? WhatsApp us.

Replies come from Ashish or the team.

Overview

We are a founder-led studio in Lucknow, India, working remotely; there is no South Australian office, and we would rather you heard that now. Further down is what seven developers ranking for Adelaide publish. Only two show a price, and we checked all seven on 6 Oct 2026.

By Ashish Sharma, founder · Updated 6 October 2026

Quick answer

How much do app developers in Adelaide charge?

Of the seven providers ranking for Adelaide, two print a dollar figure. Digital Noir starts a simple iPhone or Android app from $20k, $30k with a minimal CMS, rising to $200k+. Kiratech puts a quality MVP at $50,000⁠–⁠$120,000 AUD. PixelForce lists a 3⁠–⁠4 month MVP after a scoping and design phase; Microknot says 3⁠–⁠12 months. None says whether GST is in the figure. Our iOS + Android band is A$6,900⁠–⁠A$43,000 over 4⁠–⁠12 weeks, with no GST added because we are not registered for Australian GST. The low end, about four weeks, suits a booking or loyalty app with a handful of screens and no outside integrations. Payments, offline sync, a web admin with roles or links to systems you already run move it toward the top end and twelve weeks.

  • 5 of the 7 pages show no price; Kiratech, one of the two that does, bills time-and-materials
  • PixelForce opens with a fixed-scope scoping and design phase and shows no price for it
  • Why ours is lower: a Lucknow studio costs less to run, and one codebase builds both apps. The feature list stays the same
  • Your figure goes into the quote before any build starts
Map of Australia showing Adelaide, South AustraliaAdelaide is in South Australia (SA). Other cities we serve are marked for reference.
Adelaide is in South Australia (SA). Other cities we serve are marked for reference.

Local snapshot

Adelaide at a glance

SA businesses (ABS data cube, Table 4)
174,310 trading at 30 Jun 2026, up 3.3%
Source: abs.gov.au
Greater Adelaide
1,491,015 residents at 30 Jun 2025
Source: abs.gov.au
Lot Fourteen
7 ha district: Space Agency, SmartSat CRC, AIML, A3C
Source: lotfourteen.com.au
Osborne shipyard
A$30bn upgrade, 4,000⁠–⁠5,000 jobs
Source: ani.com.au
SA wine
48% of the 2025 national crush
Source: wineaustralia.com
Apple Developer Program
US$99 list, charged in AUD (about A$149 at enrolment, Oct 2026)
Source: developer.apple.com

Areas we work with

  • Adelaide CBD
  • Norwood
  • Prospect
  • Tonsley
  • Port Adelaide
  • Osborne
  • Edinburgh
  • Munno Para
  • Mount Barker
  • Tanunda

01of 8

App development cost in Adelaide: what 7 providers publish on price, timeline and team location

On 6 October 2026 we opened the seven provider pages ranking on google.com.au for 'app developers adelaide' and recorded what each says about price, build time and billing. Locations are the addresses the pages show. This records what is published; it rates nobody's work.

Published app prices and timelines, Adelaide-ranking providers, checked 6 Oct 2026
ProviderWhere the team works (address shown on its page)Published pricePublished timelinePricing model
NextFaze106 Ward St, North AdelaideNot publishedNot publishedNot stated
Digital NoirAdelaide (no street address in the page text)From $20k for a simple app on iOS or Android; from $30k with a minimal CMS; up to $200k+"At least a few months"Not stated
PixelForceKent Town (head office; Sydney offices also listed)Not published; a fixed-scope scoping and design phase comes firstScoping and design 4⁠–⁠8 weeks (6⁠–⁠8 weeks elsewhere on the page); MVP 3⁠–⁠4 months; enterprise 6⁠–⁠9 monthsFixed-scope scoping, then a fixed-cost statement of work
KiratechThincLab, 10 Pulteney StMVP $50,000⁠–⁠$120,000 AUD, given as typical "in Australia"Not publishedTime-and-materials
Astra Custom Software147 Pirie StNot publishedNot publishedNot stated
AppetiserRichmond (Melbourne), Bondi Junction (Sydney), Los AngelesNot published30-day prototype stage onlyNot stated
MicroknotBella Vista NSW and Sydney CBDNot published"3⁠–⁠12 months, and sometimes more"Not stated
CodingclaveLucknow, India (remote, founder-led)A$6,900⁠–⁠A$43,000 ex-GST for iOS + Android from one codebase4⁠–⁠12 weeksFixed price in a written quote

GST. None of the seven pages says whether its figures include GST, so ask before comparing numbers. Ours carry none: Codingclave is an overseas supplier and is not registered for Australian GST.

Not in the table. Airtasker's directory of Adelaide app developers also ranks. Google's result showed '$7.00 to $35.00' with no unit, which reads like small-task pricing rather than a scoped two-platform build. Hourly rates, feature hours and store fees sit in our national guide to app development costs. Every figure here is dated, so re-check a provider's own page before relying on it.

02of 8

An Adelaide-addressed agency or a remote studio: when each is the better buy

Five of the seven providers present as Adelaide firms; Appetiser and Microknot list offices in Melbourne, Sydney and Los Angeles. Where your developers sit matters for some apps and not for others.

  • An Adelaide agency is the better buy when...

    • The app supports defence or government work needing security clearances, as some Osborne and Edinburgh supply-chain contracts do.
    • You want workshops in a room in Adelaide.
    • The budget is A$100k+ and you want a dedicated onshore team.
    • The contract must sit with an Australian entity holding an ABN.

    We offer none of these, and we say so on the first call.

  • A remote studio is the better buy when...

    The budget sits between roughly A$7k and A$43k, the scope can be written down screen by screen, and late-afternoon or evening video calls suit you. A first version built to learn whether customers use the app fits well, because decisions happen on calls and on test builds you install yourself.

  • Why the remote figure is lower

    The scope is the same. A Lucknow studio costs less to run than one in Kent Town or the CBD; one Flutter or React Native codebase produces both apps, so Android adds testing and store work rather than a second build; and no account manager sits between you and the person running the build.

  • Who you would actually deal with

    Ashish Sharma started Codingclave in Lucknow in 2017 and runs each project himself, from the first call to the store release. The record so far: founder-led delivery across 200+ projects since 2017, Top Rated on Upwork, and ★ 4.9 on Google (76 reviews). You speak with Ashish on WhatsApp (+91 92771 84741), email or video, not with an account manager. Your contract is with Codingclave Development LLP in India; nothing of ours is registered in Australia, so there is no office, ABN or local number here. See our past work and reviews.

If your project fits the remote column, brief Ashish on WhatsApp.

03of 8

Mobile app development for Adelaide industries: the scopes that come up

South Australia had 174,310 actively trading businesses at 30 June 2026, up 3.3% in a year (ABS business counts data cube, Table 4). These are scopes its sectors bring, not client projects, each with a rough position in our A$6,900–A$43,000 band.

  • Defence supply-chain SMEs around Osborne and Edinburgh

    Australian Naval Infrastructure puts the Osborne upgrade at A$30 billion, with 4,000–5,000 jobs across many organisations. Suppliers run on inspections, timesheets and asset registers, so the usual scope is an offline field app with photos and signatures, synced to a web admin. Unclassified work only: classified work belongs with a cleared onshore firm.

    Usually lands: upper part of the band, because offline sync and a web admin both add weeks.

  • Lot Fourteen and university spin-out founders

    Lot Fourteen's 7-hectare city-centre district hosts the Australian Space Agency, SmartSat CRC, the Australian Institute for Machine Learning and the Australian Cyber Collaboration Centre. Founders there need proof of demand before scale, so the scope is one core workflow, shipped and measured first (MVP guide). The R&D Tax Incentive keeps its current rules until Budget changes start on 1 July 2028 (business.gov.au); whether any app work qualifies is a question for your tax adviser.

    Usually lands: near the bottom of the band.

  • Clinics and allied health near SAHMRI and BioMed City

    Most businesses turning over $3 million or less sit outside the Privacy Act, but the OAIC says a health service provider is covered at any turnover. So a booking or intake app has consent wording and data handling written into the scope, and where the data is hosted is agreed in writing before you sign. See allied health clinics.

    Usually lands: lower to middle of the band.

  • Cellar doors in the Barossa, McLaren Vale, Clare and the Adelaide Hills

    South Australia crushed 48% of the national winegrape crop in 2025, and the 2026 national crush, about 1.27 million tonnes, was the smallest since 2000 (Wine Australia). A wine-club app covers allocations, tasting bookings, loyalty and release alerts; members buy through the winery's own channel, and the member list stays with the winery rather than a third-party platform.

    Usually lands: middle of the band, with allocations and payments.

  • Trades in the northern and hills growth areas

    Munno Para West–Angle Vale, Virginia and Mount Barker grew fastest in 2024-25 (see the areas list), and new homes need trades. The scope: quotes from the phone, online booking, a job list per crew, site photos and sign-off. See our tradies page.

    Usually lands: middle of the band.

  • Cafés and restaurants

    Venues with frequent regulars ask for ordering apps with menus, pick-up times, loyalty and push offers; for the counter, see our restaurant POS software. Australian payment and delivery integrations are set-up work, scoped and priced as their own line once checked for your venue.

    Usually lands: lower to middle of the band; each integration moves it up.

  • Nonprofits

    Apple can waive the annual developer fee for an eligible nonprofit, accredited educational institution or government entity that distributes only free apps. The request goes in under the organisation's own name. The waiver removes Apple's fee only; the build is priced on its scope like any other.

Selling products? A store usually comes before a shopping app: see e-commerce websites in Adelaide or Shopify developers in Adelaide.

Have a project in mind?

Send a few lines on WhatsApp or get a fixed AUD quote.

04of 8

One build week on Adelaide time

The studio works Monday to Saturday, 10am to 7pm India time, which is 3pm to midnight in Adelaide while South Australia is on daylight time (4 October 2026 to 4 April 2027). Calls fit 3–5pm inside your working day, evening slots are there if you want them, and the plan is for the week's build to reach your phone by Friday morning.

A typical build week on Adelaide time (ACDT until 4 Apr 2027)
DayWhat happens in India (IST)What you see in AdelaideYour part
Monday10am–noon: sprint plan agreed on video, then the build starts3⁠–⁠5pm ACDT: planning callConfirm the week's screens and priorities
Tuesday to ThursdayBuild and test; Thursday's test build is planned for upload before 7pmEvening call slots until midnight; the build usually reaches TestFlight or Play internal testing by Friday morningAnswer questions; install the build when it lands
Friday10am–noon: demo of the week's work3⁠–⁠5pm ACDT: demo callAccept the work or list changes
SaturdayFixes and store preparationStudio reachable 3pm–midnight ACDTOptional call if a decision is waiting
SundayNo workNo workNothing
From Mon 5 Apr 2027The same 10am⁠–⁠7pm IST day2:00⁠–⁠11:00pm ACST, shared 2⁠–⁠5pmThree hours of overlap instead of two

Nothing here asks you to work late; evening slots exist for founders who prefer them. The build cadence, and any response time you need in the contract, is written into your quote rather than promised on this page.

05of 8

Who owns the app: the accounts, keys and code to hold in your business’s name

An app depends on two store accounts, signing keys, push credentials, a repository and a paid back end. If any sits in a developer's name, changing developers can mean a fresh store listing with none of your reviews.

App accounts and assets to hold in your organisation's name
ItemWhy it mattersWho sets it upWhen it is yours
Apple Developer ProgramiPhone releases ship from it. Apple's list price is US$99 a year, charged in local currency; in Australia that was about A$149 in Oct 2026, so check the figure shown at enrolment. Organisations enrol with a D-U-N-S number, which adds lead timeYou enrol as the organisation; we are added to your teamFrom week 1
Google Play ConsoleNew personal accounts must run a closed test with 12+ testers for 14 days before production; an organisation account skips that waitYou register; we are invited as usersFrom week 1
Android signing and upload keyA lost upload key slows every later releaseConfigured inside your consoleAt the first upload
Push credentials (APNs key, Firebase project)Without them, notifications stop when developers changeCreated inside your Apple and Google accountsAt set-up
Source code repositoryThe code is the asset you are paying forA GitHub or GitLab organisation you ownFrom the first sprint
Cloud and back-end account (AWS or DigitalOcean)Holds the database and customer dataOpened on your own billingBefore launch
Analytics and crash reportingShows who uses the app and what breaksYour account, with our accessAt launch
Design files and IP assignmentThe next developer needs the screens and the rights to the codeDesign files shared from the first design round; assignment of code and designs is set out in the written quote and contract you signAs the signed contract sets out

With the repository and both store accounts in your name from the first weeks, stopping after any milestone leaves the code and the listings with you. Each row appears as a line in the written quote and is handed over on launch day against that list.

Have a project in mind?

Send a few lines on WhatsApp or get a fixed AUD quote.

06of 8

Eight questions to ask any Adelaide app developer, and how our quote answers them

Each question matches a gap in the Adelaide pages compared above. Put them to every developer on your shortlist, us included.

Eight questions for any Adelaide app quote
QuestionWhy it mattersOur written answer
Is scoping billed separately, and what does it cost?One ranking page puts a separate scoping phase first without showing whether or what it costsAny discovery or design stage is its own line in the quote
Fixed price or time-and-materials?On time-and-materials the total moves with the hoursOne fixed AUD figure; payment split and methods confirmed in writing for your business before you sign
Is store submission included?Most pages are silent on itStore submission from your own Apple and Google accounts, listed as a line in the written quote
Who owns the accounts and code?Store accounts held in a developer's name can cost you the listing laterYour organisation, item by item, as in the checklist above
What does support after launch cost?Retainers are named on one page, unpricedHosting and support is optional at A$80⁠–⁠A$240 a month; any bug-fix period after launch is a stated line in your quote
Where does the team work?Two of the seven list only interstate or overseas officesLucknow, India: remote and founder-led
Is an NDA available?You share the idea before any contract existsAn NDA can be part of the agreement; its terms are agreed in writing before you send the detailed scope
Is the price shown ex- or inc-GST?None of the seven pages saysEx-GST, and we add none: Codingclave is an overseas supplier not registered for Australian GST. If you are GST-registered, ask your accountant whether reverse charge applies

Judging quality. Use apps the developer has shipped, call a reference whose app has been live a year, and install test builds on your own phone during the project, so you judge the build in your hand. The stack: Flutter or React Native, Node.js or Laravel, Next.js admin panels, PostgreSQL or MySQL on AWS or DigitalOcean, OpenAI or Claude for AI. On frameworks, see Flutter vs React Native and native vs hybrid.

07of 8

App builders across Greater Adelaide and South Australia

Greater Adelaide had 1,491,015 residents at 30 June 2025 (ABS). The work runs on video and test builds, so the use case matters more than the suburb:

  • CBD and North Terrace: Lot Fourteen and university founders testing a first version.
  • Kent Town, Norwood, Unley and Prospect: Norwood, Unley-Parkside and Prospect are the densest areas, about 3,100 people per sq km (ABS), a tight catchment for booking and loyalty apps.
  • Tonsley and Clovelly Park: manufacturers' inspection and maintenance apps.
  • Port Adelaide, Osborne, Edinburgh and Salisbury: supplier timesheet and reporting apps around the shipyard and defence precincts, unclassified only.
  • Elizabeth, Playford and Munno Para: Munno Para West–Angle Vale added about 2,400 residents in 2024-25, the largest gain in Adelaide, and Virginia-Waterloo Corner grew 17%, the fastest rate (ABS); trades apps follow the new estates.
  • Mount Barker and Hahndorf: Mount Barker added about 1,200 residents (ABS), and hills businesses take bookings from residents and visitors.
  • Tanunda and McLaren Vale: wine-club and tasting-booking apps.
  • North Adelaide, Mawson Lakes, Glenelg and Marion: the clinic, field-app and ordering-app scopes above apply in the same way.

Website and online store prices for the city are on our Adelaide overview. Building in another city? See app developers in Sydney, Brisbane, Perth, Gold Coast or Canberra.

08of 8

Holding a quote from an Adelaide app developer? Get the same features priced

If an Adelaide agency has already quoted you, test the same feature list against one fixed figure covering both platforms. A second number on identical scope shows quickly whether the gap is in the features or in the overheads.

  • What to send

    The quote or scope (black out the price if you like), the screens, the systems the app must talk to and your launch date. A photographed sketch will do.

  • What you get back

    The same features priced in AUD, the weeks, and the ownership checklist filled in, with questions where the scope has gaps.

  • When we’ll point you elsewhere

    If the work needs clearances, in-person workshops or an Australian contracting entity, we will say so.

Send the quote on WhatsApp or use the form. Ashish then suggests video-call times between 3pm and midnight Adelaide time.

Pricing in AUD

What we charge for Adelaide app work, in AUD

Most Adelaide app projects need the first row. A product that is mainly a portal or web platform is quoted as custom software at A$9,800–A$98,000; an AI assistant inside the app as an AI chatbot at A$1,950–A$23,500 (see AI automation); and patient booking for allied health as clinic software at A$6,900–A$51,000. Each is its own quote line.

  • Mobile app

    A$6,900 – A$43,000

    Excl. GST

    Mobile app (iOS + Android, Flutter or React Native) · Typical timeline: 4–12 weeks


    Both apps from one Flutter or React Native codebase, test builds through the project and store submission under your accounts. Booking or loyalty apps sit low in the band; payments, offline sync and integrations move it up.

    Get a quote for this plan
  • Hosting, backups, monitoring and support

    A$80 – A$240a month

    Excl. GST

    Hosting, backups, monitoring and support · Ongoing, cancel any time


    Optional after launch: hosting, backups, monitoring and small changes.

    Get a quote for this plan
  • Fixed price in AUD
  • Free scoping call
  • No obligation

Where your app sits in a band, and any tier price inside it, is confirmed in writing for your business before you sign. We do not sell hours; feature hours and store commission are in the national app cost guide.

Prices are in Australian dollars and do not include GST: Codingclave is an overseas (India-based) supplier and is not registered for Australian GST. If your business is GST-registered, check with your accountant whether the reverse-charge rules apply to imported services.

Fixed AUD quote

Get a fixed price for your iPhone + Android app

A sketch, a feature list or a quote you already hold is enough. Ashish replies with questions or a price, the weeks and the accounts you will own, and says plainly if an Adelaide agency would suit the job better.

Ashish Sharma

Founder, Codingclave

Ashish or the team will reply on WhatsApp or email within one business day.

Prefer WhatsApp?

WhatsApp Ashish

Tell us about your business

  • Free scoping call
  • Fixed price in AUD
  • No obligation

Your details go only to Codingclave's team in India so we can reply — see our privacy policy. Prefer chat? WhatsApp us.

How it works

Six steps from an Adelaide brief to your store listings

Start on WhatsApp
  1. Brief on WhatsApp or video

    Three lines, a sketch or an agency quote. If you need an onshore firm, you hear that first.

  2. Written scope and a fixed price

    Screens, integrations, weeks and the accounts checklist, priced for that scope. Start the Apple and Google Play enrolments that week.

  3. Clickable design

    Tap through the main screens on your phone and sign them off before code. Design only? See UI/UX design.

  4. Build with regular test builds

    Work lands in TestFlight and Play internal testing as it is finished, usually weekly, so you install and try each build yourself.

  5. Store submission under your accounts

    Both listings go out from your accounts; Apple and Google set their review times.

  6. Handover and optional support

    Code, keys, designs and documents as the quote lists; support at A$80–A$240 a month if you want it.

FAQ

Questions Australians ask us

Can’t see yours? Ask Ashish directly — you’ll get a straight answer, not a sales script.

Ask Ashish directly

Ask on WhatsApp

How much does it cost to build an app in Adelaide?

Published Adelaide figures are scarce: on 6 Oct 2026 only two of seven ranking providers showed a price, and the lowest starting point was $20k for a single-platform app, with no GST basis stated. Our band for iPhone and Android together is A$6,900–A$43,000, fixed against a written scope with no GST added. Screens, logins, payments and integrations decide where you land. Australia-wide ranges are in our national app cost guide.

Should an Adelaide app use Flutter or React Native?

Both build iPhone and Android apps from one codebase, and either suits most business apps. Flutter draws its own interface, so screens look identical on both platforms and animation-heavy designs are straightforward. React Native uses JavaScript and native components, which helps if your web team already writes React or the app shares logic with a Next.js admin panel. Pick on your team's skills and the device features you need; the choice rarely moves the price much.

What does it cost to hire an app developer for an Adelaide business: hourly freelancer or fixed project?

Marketplace listings suit small tasks: Airtasker's Adelaide result showed '$7.00 to $35.00' in Google on 6 Oct 2026, with no unit. A two-platform app needs someone accountable for architecture, the back end, store submission under your accounts and support after launch, so price it as a scoped project. We don't sell hours; an iOS + Android app with us is A$6,900–A$43,000, quoted as a single figure.

Is there a best app development company in Adelaide?

Not objectively. Award lists, star ratings and 'top 10' articles each measure something different. Judge what you can check: apps the developer has shipped that you can download today, whether it publishes a price, where its team works, what a reference says a year after launch, and whether the contract puts code and store accounts in your name.

Do I need app developers near me in Adelaide, or can a remote team build my app?

For most business apps a remote team works: scoping, design reviews and test builds happen on video and on your own phone. Choose an Adelaide agency for cleared defence or government work, regular in-person workshops, a A$100k+ budget with a dedicated onshore team, or a contract that must sit with an Australian ABN holder. We are remote, in Lucknow, with two hours of overlap with an Adelaide 9-to-5 now and three from 5 April 2027.

iOS app development in Adelaide: iPhone only, or iOS and Android together?

Check which phones your customers carry. If both, build both from one Flutter or React Native codebase, which adds testing and store work rather than a second build. Budget for the accounts: Apple's program lists at US$99 a year, charged in Australian dollars (about A$149 at enrolment in Oct 2026), and Google Play charges a US$25 one-time registration fee. Go iPhone-only when the app depends on an Apple-only feature.

How long does an Adelaide app take from scoping to the App Store?

PixelForce lists 4–8 weeks of scoping and design (6–8 weeks elsewhere on its page) before a 3–4 month MVP, and 6–9 months for enterprise builds; Microknot says 3–12 months, sometimes more; Digital Noir, at least a few months. Ours run 4–12 weeks from signed scope to store submission. Apple and Google set their own review times, and a new personal Google Play account must first run a 14-day closed test with at least 12 testers, so register as an organisation early.

Will an app developer sign an NDA before I share my idea, and who owns the code afterwards?

Ask before sending anything detailed; with us, an NDA can be part of the agreement, confirmed in writing for your business before you sign. Ownership then follows the names on the accounts and the contract. Enrol your organisation in the Apple Developer Program (it needs a D-U-N-S number), open Google Play Console as an organisation, and hold the repository, signing keys, push credentials and cloud billing yourself. Assignment of code and designs is set out in the written quote and contract you sign.

Ashish Sharma · Founder

Describe the app in three lines and get a fixed price back

A sketch, a feature list or a quote you already hold is enough. Ashish replies with questions or a price, the weeks and the accounts you will own, and says plainly if an Adelaide agency would suit the job better.

  1. WhatsApp us or fill in the form
  2. Free scoping call
  3. Fixed AUD quote, no obligation