Skip to content
CodingclaveAU

Shopify · Adelaide & SA · prices Oct 2026

Shopify developers in Adelaide: published prices compared, one fixed AUD quote

Tell us what you sell and when you want to go live, and you get a written Shopify scope with one fixed AUD total in the A$2,400⁠–⁠A$19,500 band before any work starts.

From A$2,400excl. GSTSee pricing →

  • One fixed AUD price, in writing
  • Most stores live in 2⁠–⁠6 weeks
  • Wine stores: age step, club, pickup
  • Launches after closing, 3pm⁠–⁠12am ACDT
  • Store and apps stay in your name

What do you need for your Adelaide store?

  • Free scoping call
  • Fixed price in AUD
  • No obligation

Your details go only to Codingclave's team in India so we can reply — see our privacy policy. Prefer chat? WhatsApp us.

Replies come from Ashish or the team.

Overview

Codingclave is a founder-led team in Lucknow, India, with no Adelaide office. We're online 3pm to midnight Adelaide time, Monday to Saturday, so theme publishes and cut-overs happen after your doors close. Further down, seven Adelaide Shopify price pages sit side by side, read on 6⁠–⁠7 Oct 2026.

By Ashish Sharma, founder · Updated 6 October 2026

Quick answer

What does a Shopify developer cost in Adelaide in 2026?

$2,000⁠–⁠$8,000 buys a template Shopify store and $10,000⁠–⁠$30,000 a custom theme, according to the whatsthedamage Adelaide cost guide (October 2026). The Hope Factory prints $2,000⁠–⁠$7,500 for theme customisation and $15,000⁠–⁠$100,000+ for a custom build with integrations. Codingclave quotes one fixed AUD total between A$2,400 and A$19,500. Hourly rates of $50⁠–⁠$150+ never add up to a store price on their own.

  • Moving an existing store onto Shopify: $3,000⁠–⁠$15,000 in the same guide
  • Running costs once live: $250⁠–⁠$1,500+ a month published; our optional support is A$80⁠–⁠A$240 a month
  • Shopify Basic is A$56 a month (A$42 billed yearly), not the $19 some Adelaide pages still show
  • Only WP Creative marks a figure + GST, so ask every other source which basis it quotes on
Map of Australia showing Adelaide, South AustraliaAdelaide is in South Australia (SA). Other cities we serve are marked for reference.
Adelaide is in South Australia (SA). Other cities we serve are marked for reference.

Local snapshot

Adelaide at a glance

Adelaide template store, published
$2,000⁠–⁠$8,000 (whatsthedamage, Oct 2026)
Source: whatsthedamage.com.au
Shopify Basic in AUD
A$56 a month, or A$42 on yearly billing
Source: shopify.com
GST on the Shopify bill
10% until a GST-registered ABN is added
Source: help.shopify.com
Selling liquor online in SA
Buyer's date of birth at order; licence number in advertising
Source: finlaysons.com.au
Shopify POS Pro
A$129 a month per location
Source: shopify.com
Adelaide clocks
ACDT, UTC+10:30, 4 Oct 2026⁠–⁠4 Apr 2027
Source: simplecalendar.com.au

Areas we work with

  • Unley
  • Norwood
  • Burnside
  • Stirling
  • Goodwood
  • Barossa Valley
  • McLaren Vale
  • Adelaide Hills
  • Wingfield
  • Regency Park

01of 9

Who publishes a Shopify price in Adelaide, and what it covers

Each figure is copied as printed. "Not stated" means the page gives no GST basis; "none" means it shows no figure at all.

Shopify figures printed by Adelaide-facing pages when read on 6 Oct 2026; whatsthedamage and WP Creative opened again in a browser on 7 Oct. Currency and GST basis exactly as shown.
SourceTypeBuild price publishedOther figuresGST basis
whatsthedamage.com.auLead-broker cost guide, not a builderTemplate store $2,000⁠–⁠$8,000; custom theme $10,000⁠–⁠$30,000; Plus or enterprise $30,000⁠–⁠$100,000+Migration $3,000⁠–⁠$15,000; redesign $3,000⁠–⁠$12,000; $250⁠–⁠$1,500+ a month once liveNot stated
The Hope FactoryShopify Plus agencyTheme customisation $2,000⁠–⁠$7,500; custom build with integrations $15,000⁠–⁠$100,000+NoneNot stated
WP CreativeMulti-platform agencyCustom builds $15,000⁠–⁠$40,000+; its own custom projects from $15,000; freelancer theme stores from about $3,000Mid-level $50⁠–⁠$75 an hour, senior $75⁠–⁠$150+; Care Plan from $2,500 a month; Shopify plans shown as $19/$49/$299+ GST on its own $15,000 floor; otherwise not stated
White Peak DigitalAdelaide agency, Gawler Place officeNoneShopify plans at $19, $49 and $299 a month (out of date)n/a
SwankyShopify Plus agency, Port Adelaide addressNoneNonen/a
Seventyfour DesignShopify Plus agency, Adelaide city pageNoneNonen/a
AirtaskerMarketplace for freelancersPer task, set by each tasker; Google's listing reads "Find 20 Shopify developers in Adelaide"NonePer tasker
CodingclaveIndia-based, founder-ledOne fixed figure inside A$2,400⁠–⁠A$19,500, set per jobOptional support A$80⁠–⁠A$240 a monthExcludes GST; see the GST note with our prices

Plan prices on some pages are years old. A few Adelaide pages still list Basic at $19, Shopify at $49 and Advanced at $299 a month. Shopify's Australian pricing on 6–7 Oct 2026 reads Basic A$56 (A$42 a month on yearly billing), Grow A$149 and Advanced A$575; the limits on each are in our Shopify plan table. A site with no shop is priced on our Adelaide website prices page.

Prices checked 6–7 Oct 2026; every source is listed at the foot of the page.

Send your store link on WhatsApp and Ashish replies with his questions or one AUD total.

02of 9

How a South Australian wine, gin or gourmet store works on Shopify

Can you sell wine on Shopify? Yes. The whatsthedamage guide says producer stores cost more because age-gated checkout, state alcohol freight rules, perishable shipping zones and club billing are real build work, but it doesn't say how Shopify handles any of them. Each item below goes into your scope, with any app named and its monthly fee shown, before you sign. Which licence covers online sales is on our Adelaide ecommerce page; your own conditions come from Consumer and Business Services (CBS), starting with sa.gov.au's licensee responsibilities.

  • Why the date of birth sits on the cart page below Shopify Plus

    South Australia's rules for direct sales require the buyer's date of birth when the order is placed, unless they've given it to you before (Finlaysons summary of the 2018 reforms). A pop-up asking "Are you over 18?" stores nothing. Shopify only lets custom fields into the information, shipping and payment steps of checkout on Plus, which starts from A$3,700 a month. On Shopify Basic or Grow, a date-of-birth field can't sit inside checkout, so it goes on the cart page or comes from an age-verification app, and is saved to the order. It shows under the order's additional details, and a customer metafield can hold it so a returning member isn't asked twice. A test order with an under-18 date has to be blocked before launch.

  • Licence number in the theme footer and emails

    The same rules put your licence number on direct-sales advertising, and sa.gov.au counts websites and newsletters among it. In a Shopify theme that's one footer text block printed on every template, repeated in the order confirmation email and the footer of your Shopify Email campaigns. Any extra notice your conditions set goes in the same block, worded as CBS confirms and approved by you.

  • Wine club billing through a subscription app

    Shopify lets subscription apps charge saved cards on a schedule, and the app's fee sits on your own Shopify bill. The set-up covers a billing date tied to each release, a skip-this-shipment option, member prices shown after login, and the retry email when a card declines. Each path is tried with a test card that fails on purpose.

  • Set dozens, pick-your-own dozens and case prices

    A fixed dozen can run through Shopify's own Bundles app, which takes every bottle off that wine's stock count, so a sold-out shiraz can't hide inside a case. A pick-any-twelve dozen needs a bundle app that handles mix and match, or a custom theme section. A case price is an automatic quantity discount, so no buyer needs a code.

  • Cellar doors as Shopify locations

    A cellar door in the Barossa Valley, McLaren Vale or the Adelaide Hills is set up as its own Shopify location with local pickup switched on and its own collection note. Staff mark an order ready in the admin or on POS, and Shopify emails the buyer to come in.

  • Carton freight, delivery hours and who may sign

    Shipping profiles can charge a six-pack and a twelve-pack differently by weight and zone: metro Adelaide, regional SA and interstate. Shopify's local delivery has no date or time-slot picker of its own, so a store that must keep drop-offs inside SA's permitted hours adds a scheduling app; the hours are on our ecommerce page. Delivery instructions record the recipient: the adult buyer, an adult they nominate, or as the buyer directs.

Not legal advice. CBS and the conditions printed on your licence decide what the store must show and record, and you approve every line of licence text.

Tell Ashish what you make, and where, on WhatsApp and the scope will price each of these lines for your range.

03of 9

Shopify’s own bill in year one for three Adelaide businesses

A first year on Shopify has four parts: the build, the plan, apps and payment fees. Shopify Payments takes cards from Australian buyers in AUD, and new stores get 3 days free, then A$1 a month for 3 months, before the plan price starts.

Plan cost on yearly billing, from shopify.com/au/pricing on 6–7 Oct 2026. The examples are typical briefs, not client work. App fees are listed in your scope.
Adelaide business (example brief)Plan that usually fitsPlan, 12 monthsWith 10% GST if no ABN addedBuildAlso budget for
Barossa or McLaren Vale cellar door adding online sales and a clubBasic, yearly; Grow if staff need their own logins (Grow allows up to 5)A$504A$554.40One fixed figure in your quoteSubscription app; age-verification app if used; carton freight
Bookshop on Unley Road or fashion store on Magill Road with POS and click and collectGrow, yearlyA$1,368A$1,504.80One fixed figure in your quotePOS Pro at A$129 a month per location, if the shop needs it
Wingfield or Regency Park warehouse brand leaving NetoGrow or Advanced, yearlyA$1,368 or A$5,172A$1,504.80 or A$5,689.20One fixed figure in your quoteRedirect map for old URLs; ERP or 3PL connector fees

GST on the Shopify bill. Shopify adds 10% to the plan and to shipping labels until a GST-registered ABN is saved under Settings > Billing > Billing profile.

Afterpay and Zip. Shopify charges a third-party transaction fee when a buyer pays through a provider other than Shopify Payments. If Afterpay or Zip connect that way, check your plan's rate on Shopify's pricing page before settling on Basic.

Surcharges. From 1 October 2026, no-surcharge rules apply to eftpos, Mastercard and Visa after the RBA's March 2026 conclusions, so a surcharge app should come off; see the checkout section of our national page.

Shopping ads after launch. Feeding products to Google is covered under Google Ads management; the ad spend itself is paid by you to Google.

Have a project in mind?

Send a few lines on WhatsApp or get a fixed AUD quote.

04of 9

Shopify POS and click and collect for an Adelaide shop counter

A bookshop on Unley Road, a bike shop on Magill Road, a fashion store near Burnside Village, a deli on Stirling's main street or a toy shop on Goodwood Road can run the till and the website from one Shopify admin.

  • One location per shop or stockroom

    Every shop, and any back room or storage unit, becomes a Shopify location holding its own quantity of each product. Stock moved between them is logged as a transfer, and opening counts are loaded per location before launch day.

  • Pickup switched on shop by shop

    Local pickup is enabled only at the locations that hand over orders, each with its own hours and collection note. Marking an order ready on the POS sends the buyer a ready-for-pickup message.

  • Card reader and receipt printer

    Not every card terminal works with Shopify POS, so the model you use now is checked against Shopify's supported hardware for Australia, and the scope names the reader and printer you'll use.

  • Staff PINs instead of admin logins

    Counter staff open POS with a PIN, so a Saturday casual can sell without reaching payouts or settings. The basic POS tier limits how many staff get POS access; POS Pro, A$129 a month per location on Shopify's POS pricing, lifts that and adds finer permissions.

  • Switch-over once the doors lock

    The change happens after closing. A counter sale, a refund and a stock-count change are run after hours, before the shop reopens.

Whether a single stock count across counter and website suits you is weighed on our Adelaide ecommerce page; cafés and venues are better served by restaurant POS software. Pickup requests can also ping the counter phone on WhatsApp: see WhatsApp order alerts for Adelaide shops.

Ask about POS for your shop on WhatsApp.

05of 9

Already trading on Shopify? Three repairs Adelaide owners ask for

Small fixes like these usually end up on Airtasker.

  • A slow storefront

    The usual causes are apps loading scripts on every page, code left behind by apps you uninstalled, and full-size product photos. Speed is measured on the same pages before and after.

  • An app or theme section that stopped working

    A theme or app update, or a lapsed app subscription, can break a section overnight. The fix is made on an unpublished copy of the theme and published once you've checked it.

  • Theme and app checks after the checkout upgrade

    Shopify's move to the new checkout retired older checkout scripts and settings. What to check is set out in the checkout section of our national Shopify page.

Whether a one-off fix is covered by the A$80–A$240 monthly support or priced on its own is confirmed in writing for your business before you sign.

Describe the problem on WhatsApp.

06of 9

Airtasker’s 20 taskers, an agency with staff in Adelaide, Shopify’s directory or a remote team

Can you hire someone to build a Shopify store for an Adelaide business? Yes. Open the store in your business's name, add the developer as staff or a collaborator, and plan the switch for an evening. The general answer is on our Shopify development page.

Four routes to Shopify help from Adelaide, and the work each one leaves with you
RouteSuitsWhat you handle yourselfHow the price shows up
Freelancers on AirtaskerA one-off fix you can describe in a sentenceWriting the brief, choosing a tasker and testing the resultEach tasker prices the task
An agency with staff in AdelaideWorkshops in person, a required partner tier, large or Plus briefsDiscovery calls and comparing proposalsA few publish ranges (see the first table); most quote after a call
Shopify Partner DirectoryFiltering partners by service and tierWorking out which partners serve Adelaide, since city filtering is weakUS-dollar "starting from" cards per service; many say "Contact for pricing"
A remote fixed-scope team, such as CodingclaveBuilds, platform moves, repairs and evening launchesReviewing previews and approving the scopeOne fixed AUD figure per job

Codingclave is not a Shopify Partner and does not appear in the directory. Still deciding between platforms? See Shopify, WooCommerce or custom for an Adelaide store, or stay on WooCommerce with WordPress developers in Adelaide.

Shopify developers in other cities: Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Perth and the Gold Coast.

07of 9

Four briefs we’d send to an Adelaide agency instead

Hire an agency with people in Adelaide if any of these apply.

  • You want workshops in a room

    A walk around the shop or cellar door needs someone who can drive there. We work over video call and screen share.

  • Your brief names a partner tier

    If a board, an investor or a Plus contract asks for a Shopify Plus, Premier or Platinum partner, pick one; Shopify's directory shows each tier. We hold none.

  • You need answers before lunch

    Our day starts at 3pm Adelaide time, so a store that needs a developer on call at 9am on a trading day is better off with someone on your clock.

  • You want a developer in the local scene

    Meeting your developer at Adelaide Shopify meetups and trade events is something a local agency offers and we can't.

We suit fixed-scope builds, moves off Neto or WooCommerce, repairs and launches run in your evening, all priced in writing before work starts. Get your figure.

08of 9

Store access and the test-order list with a team in India

We're in Lucknow, India, with no Adelaide office, ABN or phone number. Hours, payment and contact are covered in working with an India-based team from Adelaide; two points are specific to Shopify.

  • Collaborator or staff account, never your owner login

    You keep the Shopify owner account, the domain, the theme licence and every app's billing. If we're a Shopify collaborator, you approve the access request and choose which areas we see; a staff account works the same way on your own plan's staff allowance. Either can be removed in a click. Ownership of any custom code we write is confirmed in writing for your business before you sign.

  • The test orders run before launch

    Every payment method, an Adelaide postcode and an interstate one, each pickup location, a liquor order's date-of-birth record and a club renewal. All of it runs on an unpublished copy of your theme, so the live store stays untouched until you approve the preview.

09of 9

Questions to put to any Adelaide Shopify developer, us included

Send the same seven questions to every name on your list.

7 questions to ask

  1. Is the Adelaide address a staffed office, or a city page from an interstate agency? Ask where your project manager sits. Ours: Lucknow, and we say so.
  2. Are prices in AUD, with the GST basis stated? Old plan prices and US-dollar directory cards can throw an AUD budget.
  3. What happens before 9am on a Saturday sale day? Know who answers, and when. Ours: nobody until 3pm Adelaide time.
  4. Can you verify the partner tier? Shopify's directory shows it; a badge on a website doesn't. Ours: none held.
  5. Do the reviews come from Shopify stores, or other kinds of sites? Five stars for brochure sites say little about checkout work. Ours: ask for Shopify examples from our past work.
  6. Will every payment method, an SA postcode, an interstate postcode and each pickup location be test-ordered? Ask for the list before you sign.
  7. Whose name is on the owner account, the theme licence and each app's billing? It should be your business's from day one. Ours: yours, from the first day, with us on an account you can remove.

Store SEO after launch is a separate job, covered under SEO services; nobody can guarantee rankings. Put the same seven questions to us below, and the answers come back in writing with your quote.

Pricing in AUD

What a Shopify job costs with Codingclave

Where your job lands in the band depends on a handful of things: how many products we load, whether you're leaving Neto, WooCommerce or another platform and how many old URLs need redirects, a bought theme or custom sections, an age step and club billing, and how many pickup or POS locations you run. The written quote lists each of these lines, every app and who pays for it, and one AUD total at the bottom.

  • E-commerce store

    A$2,400 – A$19,500

    Excl. GST

    E-commerce store (Shopify, WooCommerce or custom) · Typical timeline: 2–6 weeks


    A new store, a theme rebuild, a move from Neto or WooCommerce, or a producer store with an age step and club billing. One fixed figure once scoped.

    Get a quote for this plan
  • Hosting, backups, monitoring and support

    A$80 – A$240a month

    Excl. GST

    Hosting, backups, monitoring and support · Ongoing, cancel any time


    Theme edits, app updates and checks once the store is trading.

    Get a quote for this plan
  • Fixed price in AUD
  • Free scoping call
  • No obligation

Your Shopify plan, app subscriptions and payment fees are billed to you directly by Shopify and the payment providers; none of it runs through us. Payment stages and methods for our fee are confirmed in writing for your business before you sign.

Prices are in Australian dollars and do not include GST: Codingclave is an overseas (India-based) supplier and is not registered for Australian GST. If your business is GST-registered, check with your accountant whether the reverse-charge rules apply to imported services.

Fixed AUD quote

What do you need for your Adelaide store?

Share your store link or current platform, roughly what you sell, whether it includes liquor and when you want to launch. Ashish reads messages from 3pm Adelaide time and replies with his questions or a written AUD figure.

Ashish Sharma

Founder, Codingclave

Ashish or the team will reply on WhatsApp or email within one business day.

Prefer WhatsApp?

WhatsApp Ashish

Tell us about your business

  • Free scoping call
  • Fixed price in AUD
  • No obligation

Your details go only to Codingclave's team in India so we can reply — see our privacy policy. Prefer chat? WhatsApp us.

How it works

From first message to a live Adelaide store

Most stores take two to six weeks, counted from when your product data, photos and wording reach us; a migration also waits on the redirect map.

Start on WhatsApp
  1. Message or form

    Send your store link or the platform you're leaving, roughly what you sell, whether it includes liquor, your suburb and your live date.

  2. Video call and written scope

    A call between 3pm and midnight ACDT, then a written scope with one fixed AUD figure.

  3. Store in your business name

    You open the Shopify store, or keep the one you have, in your business name and add us as a collaborator or staff.

  4. Build on an unpublished theme

    Previews are shared in your evening, so you can look them over the next morning.

  5. Test orders, switch-over, handover

    Test orders first, then an after-hours theme publish or domain switch, then a handover list. Optional support after that.

FAQ

Questions Australians ask us

Can’t see yours? Ask Ashish directly — you’ll get a straight answer, not a sales script.

Ask Ashish directly

Ask on WhatsApp

How much does it cost to hire a Shopify developer in Adelaide?

It depends on the job, but published Adelaide figures give a frame. A cost guide puts a template store at $2,000–$8,000 and a custom theme at $10,000–$30,000, while one Adelaide agency starts its custom projects at $15,000 + GST. Codingclave scopes the job first and then names one fixed AUD total inside A$2,400–A$19,500, with optional support at A$80–A$240 a month after launch.

How much do Shopify developers charge per hour in Adelaide?

WP Creative's Adelaide Shopify page, read in a browser on 7 Oct 2026, puts mid-level developers at $50–$75 an hour and seniors at $75–$150 or more. An hourly rate tells you little until the apps, freight rules, redirects and test orders are written down, and once they are, the whole job can be priced as one figure. Codingclave doesn't bill by the hour; each job gets a single AUD figure inside A$2,400–A$19,500.

Can you sell wine on Shopify in South Australia?

Yes. Shopify runs the store and your licence sets the rules. Under SA's direct-sales rules the buyer gives a date of birth when ordering, unless they've supplied it before, and your licence number appears in your advertising, including the website. Below Shopify Plus the date-of-birth field sits on the cart page or comes from an app, saved to each order. Licence classes are explained on our Adelaide ecommerce page. This isn't legal advice: confirm your conditions with Consumer and Business Services.

Does an Adelaide store need a local Shopify developer?

Not for most builds. Previews, test orders and the switch-over all work remotely, and a switch is safer after trading anyway. Searching for a Shopify developer near me makes sense if you want in-person workshops, need a specific partner tier, or need help before lunch. Codingclave is remote, in India, and starts at 3pm Adelaide time, so weigh that honestly; the section on briefs we'd send to an Adelaide agency lists each case.

Is Shopify still worth it for an Adelaide business in 2026?

For anyone selling stock, usually yes. A cellar door needs online orders, club billing, pickup and stock counts in one place, and a shop on Unley Road wants its counter and website drawing on the same quantities; Shopify handles both from A$56 a month. A physio clinic or a tradie mostly needs bookings and enquiries, so a website with a booking tool fits better than a store. Our national Shopify development page compares plans and platforms in more depth.

How do I move an Adelaide store from Neto to Shopify?

Export products with their variants, then customers and order history, and load them into Shopify on a store nobody can see yet. Every old Neto product, category and page URL gets a 301 redirect to its new address so search rankings and bookmarks carry over. Payment methods, freight rules and any trade pricing are rebuilt and test-ordered. The domain moves in an Adelaide evening, after trading. The full method is in the migration section of our national Shopify page.

How long does it take a Shopify developer to build a store?

Our Shopify jobs usually go live two to six weeks after your products, photos and copy reach us. Content is what slows most builds, so a finished product spreadsheet and a folder of images save more time than anything on our side. A Neto or WooCommerce move also depends on the redirect map: the more old URLs, the more mapping and testing before the domain switches.

What's the difference between a Shopify expert, consultant and agency in Adelaide?

Mostly labels. "Shopify expert" is used loosely on many pages. A consultant usually advises on plans, apps and set-up; a developer writes theme code and connects apps; an agency adds design, project management and often marketing. The formal marks are Shopify's partner tiers, which you can check in its Partner Directory. Codingclave holds no tier: we're a founder-led team that quotes each Shopify job as one AUD figure.

Ashish Sharma · Founder

Send your store link for one fixed AUD price in writing

Share your store link or current platform, roughly what you sell, whether it includes liquor and when you want to launch. Ashish reads messages from 3pm Adelaide time and replies with his questions or a written AUD figure.

  1. WhatsApp us or fill in the form
  2. Free scoping call
  3. Fixed AUD quote, no obligation