Skip to content
CodingclaveAU

Hobart and southern Tas · checked 6 Oct 2026

App developers in Hobart: 10 compared, plus our fixed quote from A$6,900

Need an iPhone and Android app for a Hobart business?

From A$3,900excl. GSTSee pricing →

  • 10 Hobart providers checked
  • Fixed AUD price, every screen named
  • Store accounts in your business's name
  • Test build on your phone each sprint
  • Evening video reviews on Hobart time

What’s the app for?

  • Free scoping call
  • Fixed price in AUD
  • No obligation

Your details go only to Codingclave's team in India so we can reply — see our privacy policy. Prefer chat? WhatsApp us.

Replies come from Ashish or the team.

Overview

We build both from one codebase for a fixed A$6,900⁠–⁠A$43,000 over 4⁠–⁠12 weeks, with every screen named in the written quote and the store accounts opened in your company's name. Two studios below sit on Davey Street, a City of Hobart digital grant only pays providers inside the Hobart LGA, and one page-one result prints app prices: Dr App, $3,300⁠–⁠$27,500 inc GST. We work from Lucknow, India, with no Hobart office, so demos happen on video in your evening.

By Ashish Sharma, founder · Updated 6 October 2026

Quick answer

How much does it cost to hire an app developer in Hobart?

Most small-business apps in Hobart cost between about $3,000 and $60,000 before GST. At the low end, Dr App's five-screen package is $3,300 inc GST ($3,000 without), and its native Platinum build is $27,500. The independent whatsthedamage Hobart guide, verified October 2026, puts a first product (MVP) at $15,000⁠–⁠$60,000 and development at $100⁠–⁠$250 an hour. We quote iOS + Android at A$6,900⁠–⁠A$43,000 over 4⁠–⁠12 weeks: one fixed figure in writing, with no GST added.

  • Dr App bills post-launch changes at $80 an hour
  • Not GST-registered? A Hobart studio's 10% GST is a cost to you; we charge none
  • Our hosting and support: A$80⁠–⁠A$240 a month
  • City of Hobart grant money only pays providers inside the Hobart LGA
Map of Australia showing Hobart, TasmaniaHobart is in Tasmania (TAS). Other cities we serve are marked for reference.
Hobart is in Tasmania (TAS). Other cities we serve are marked for reference.

Local snapshot

Hobart at a glance

Dr App's published packages
$3,300⁠–⁠$27,500 inc GST
Source: drapp.com.au
Visitors, year to Mar 2026
1.4M interstate and international, $3.8B spent
Source: tourismtasmania.com.au
Visitor-economy jobs
15.6% of Tasmania's filled jobs
Source: tourismtasmania.com.au
City of Hobart digital grant
Up to $8,500; Hobart LGA providers only
Source: hobartcity.com.au
Hobart development rates
$100⁠–⁠$250 an hour (whatsthedamage)
Source: whatsthedamage.com.au
Daylight saving ends
4 Apr 2027, back to AEST
Source: dpac.tas.gov.au

Areas we work with

  • Battery Point
  • Salamanca
  • North Hobart
  • Sandy Bay
  • Rosny Park
  • Howrah
  • Kingston
  • Huon Valley
  • Glenorchy
  • Derwent Park

01of 8

App development companies in Hobart and Tasmania, checked 6 Oct 2026

We searched "app developers hobart" on Google Australia on 6 October 2026 and opened each provider's own pages; Digital Ink came from a US agency's "20 best" list on page one. Google folds "app builders hobart" and "app makers hobart" into the same search. The base column records only what each site shows. Up north, Tazzy Apps also works from Launceston; see our Launceston page.

Holding a quote from one of them? Send it on WhatsApp and we'll price the same scope line by line.

Hobart and Tasmanian app developers: address, model and published app price (checked 6 Oct 2026)
ProviderBase shown on its siteModelPublished app priceTimeline statedWhere it appears on Google
Ionata32a Davey St, Hobart; also Collingwood VICCustom and PWAs; government and NFP focusQuote onlyNot statedOrganic #1, map pack
GetbusiLevel 1, 61 Davey St, HobartCustom; fixed scope, budget and timeline after an hour-plus consultQuote onlySet in the quoteMap pack
Dr AppLists 162 Macquarie St, HobartPackaged custom buildsSilver $3,300 · Gold $11,000 · Platinum $27,500 (inc GST); $80/hr after launch1 / 3 / 3⁠–⁠5+ monthsOrganic
my IT studioLevel 2, 64/68 Liverpool St, HobartWeb-led studioApps quote only; websites from $3,200 + GSTNot statedOrganic
Tazzy AppsHobart and Launceston; no street addressTemplate app builderNone in its FAQNot statedOrganic
IT Services HobartNo street address shownCustomNoneNot statedOrganic, map pack
Digital InkKelly St, Hobart TAS 7004AgencyQuote onlyNot statedNot on page one (in the listicle)
SupportsoftCamellia NSWCustom; calls itself Sydney-basedNoneNot statedOrganic
KrifyUS, India and UK phone numbersOffshoreNoneNot statedOrganic
AirtaskerMarketplaceFreelancer bidsBids; page returned 403 to our checkVariesOrganic; snippet dated 31 Aug 2026
Codingclave (us)Lucknow, India; no Hobart officeFixed-quote remote teamA$6,900⁠–⁠A$43,0004⁠–⁠12 weeksThis page

From their own pages: Supportsoft calls itself a Sydney app company, and Dr App's Hobart page is one of more than a dozen city app pages in its menu, carrying a 2023 Sunshine Coast Business Awards win. None of that rates anyone's code; it only tells you who could sit across the table. Ionata and Getbusi (Davey St), my IT studio (Liverpool St) and Digital Ink (Kelly St) have Hobart addresses, so if face-to-face matters most, start there. If a fixed price and evening reviews matter more, tell us what the app does.

02of 8

What an app costs in Hobart once GST is taken out

Dr App's prices include GST, whatsthedamage doesn't say, and we add none. GST-registered? Compare ex-GST by dividing any inc-GST figure by 1.1 ($3,300 becomes $3,000, $11,000 becomes $10,000, $27,500 becomes $25,000), and ask your accountant whether the reverse charge applies to an imported service. Not registered? The 10% on a local invoice is then a real cost, so set Dr App's inc-GST prices beside ours. Then put five questions to every quote, ours included.

  • How many screens?

    Silver stops at five; login, home, booking, profile, settings and an admin view already make six. Ask for every screen by name.

  • One codebase or two native apps?

    Flutter or React Native covers iPhone and Android from one codebase. Platinum's separate native apps help explain its $25,000.

  • Who owns the repository and the store accounts?

    Both should be in your business's name; the ownership checklist covers each item.

  • What do changes cost after launch?

    Dr App publishes $80 an hour and says it works about 10 hours a month on your app; most studios publish nothing. Get the rate in writing.

  • What does it cost to run each month?

    Our support plan is A$80–A$240 a month; store fees are on the national cost page.

App price benchmarks for Hobart, GST shown both ways (checked 6 Oct 2026)
SourceWhat's pricedAs publishedExcluding GSTNote
Dr App SilverUp to 5 screens, cross-platform, about 1 month$3,300 inc GST$3,000Lower than our entry price
Dr App GoldJob management or similar, Xero connection, about 3 months$11,000 inc GST$10,000Ask what the Xero link syncs
Dr App PlatinumNative apps, Apple Watch and similar, 3⁠–⁠5+ months$27,500 inc GST$25,000Two native codebases
Dr App changesWork after completion$80 an hourGST not statedInvoiced monthly
whatsthedamage, HobartHourly rate; MVP; web application; integration$100⁠–⁠$250 an hour; $15,000⁠–⁠$60,000; $25,000⁠–⁠$100,000+; $5,000⁠–⁠$25,000Basis not statedWeb development guide, not app-only
CodingclaveiOS + Android, one codebase; hosting and supportA$6,900⁠–⁠A$43,000; A$80⁠–⁠A$240 a monthNo GST charged (overseas supplier, not GST-registered)One fixed figure per scope

Dr App's Silver is cheaper than our lowest price, and for five standard screens it may be the better buy. Our band covers what a package leaves out, such as an admin portal, payments, offline sync or an integration, and the quote names each one. Cost by feature, rates by country and three-year cost are in the national app cost guide; for a website, see Hobart website prices.

Send your Hobart quote on WhatsApp and we'll price the same scope line by line. Grant-funded, selling to government or claiming the R&D Tax Incentive? Keep the local quote; the rules are further down.

03of 8

Template app builder, custom code or a PWA: the three things Hobart businesses get offered

Tazzy Apps builds from a template system with preset functions and layouts; its FAQ says agency-built custom apps can pass $100,000, yet it publishes no fees of its own there. Dr App, Getbusi, Ionata and we write custom code, and Ionata also lists progressive web apps (PWAs), which run in the browser with no store listing.

Template builder vs custom code vs PWA for a Hobart business (checked 6 Oct 2026)
OptionHobart example offeredWho owns the codeOngoing cost typeIf you leaveFits when
Template builderTazzy AppsNot stated in its FAQ; ask in writingPlatform fee, not publishedNot stated in its FAQ; ask in writingStandard loyalty, ordering or bookings for one venue
Custom cross-platformDr App, Getbusi, Ionata, CodingclaveYou, if the contract assigns itHosting and supportYou take the repositoryYour own workflow or integrations
Progressive web app (PWA)IonataYou, if the contract assigns itWeb hostingPortable, like a websiteNo store needed, light features

Which one to pick

A single café wanting a stamp card, pre-orders and push offers is usually better served by a template, and we'd say so. Pay for custom code when the app must follow your workflow, connect to other systems or be an asset you could sell. A PWA suits a tool customers open a few times a year.

Offered a template plan? Get in writing who holds the store listing, the fee after year one, and whether your customer list can be exported.

Have a project in mind?

Send a few lines on WhatsApp or get a fixed AUD quote.

04of 8

App scopes that fit southern Tasmanian businesses, from Salamanca to the Huon

Five shapes of app that suit businesses around Hobart. The screens and integrations you choose set your figure in the written quote.

  • Tour operators and stays: offline guides and bookings

    Tourism Tasmania counted 1.4 million interstate and international visitors in the year to March 2026, 6.0% above 2019, spending $3.8 billion; international spend hit a record $758.6 million. The visitor economy supports 15.6% of Tasmania's filled jobs. Guide apps for Battery Point and Salamanca, Bruny or the Tasman Peninsula download maps and audio first, so they work without signal.

    Quote rises with: large offline map areas, more languages, a booking-system link. Stays can add our hotel management software; see accommodation.

  • North Hobart and Sandy Bay cafés: loyalty and ordering

    Stamp cards, order-ahead pickup and table ordering. A POS or EFTPOS link depends on your system's API and terminal provider, so we check yours before quoting it.

    Quote rises with: more venues, POS links, in-app payments. See cafés and restaurants.

  • Eastern Shore and Kingston trades: jobs, photos, quotes

    Job lists, before-and-after photos, checklists, signatures and quotes sent from the ute, for trades in Rosny Park, Howrah, Rokeby and Kingston. A Xero sync is custom work matched to your setup; we hold no Xero certification.

    Quote rises with: scheduling boards, customer portals, two-way accounting sync. See tradies and Xero and MYOB integration.

  • Huon Valley farms and northern-suburbs depots: records that save offline

    Fish farms, orchards and vineyards in the Huon Valley and Channel, and freight yards from Derwent Park and Glenorchy to Cambridge and Brighton, need forms that keep working when the phone drops signal on a farm road or in a steel shed. Block checks, harvest logs, dock scans and signed proof of delivery save on the device and sync once coverage returns.

    Quote rises with: offline edit conflicts, scanner hardware, audit exports, an office dashboard.

  • Support workers and clinics: shifts, notes, bookings

    Shift notes and incident reports for NDIS support workers; bookings and intake forms for clinics. Where the data is hosted and who can see it are settled in the written scope, before any client record goes in.

    Quote rises with: role-based access, audit trails. See NDIS providers and allied health clinics.

Pick the message nearest your plan and WhatsApp opens with it filled in: tour or stay app, trade job app, café loyalty or ordering or a founder's MVP.

05of 8

When a Davey Street studio is the right hire, and when a fixed remote quote fits

A Hobart IT firm on page one argues in its FAQ for local experts over overseas outsourcing, and for some apps it's right. To be clear: we're in Lucknow, India, with no Hobart office, no ABN and no Australian phone number. You reach us on WhatsApp voice or video, or by email. Ashish Sharma founded Codingclave in 2017 and still leads delivery; that adds up to 200+ projects and a Top Rated badge on Upwork.

  • Choose a Hobart-based studio when

    • You want in-person discovery, or testing on your staff's devices on site.
    • The buyer is a Tasmanian Government agency or council: check the procurement rules, which may weigh local suppliers.
    • You want Digital Growth Program funding.
    • The build is R&D-heavy and you plan to claim it.

    Ionata (Metro Tasmania bus tracking, TasAlert) and Getbusi (Infish, the official Tasmanian inland fishing app) show that kind of work.

  • A fixed remote quote fits when

    • The scope is clear enough to list screens and features.
    • The budget is under about A$45,000.
    • Asynchronous work and evening calls suit you.

    You can look over our portfolio and ★ 4.9 on Google (76 reviews) today, then install a test build every sprint once work starts.

  • The outsourcing worry, on its merits

    Two fears usually sit behind it: the developer vanishes, or the bill grows. On the first, the repository and store accounts sit in your business's name from the first commit, so the code written to date is already yours to hand to anyone. On the second, the price is fixed per written scope, and added screens get their own written price before work starts. The time gap is real but small: 1.5 hours of overlap this summer, so calls from about 4pm and demos after dinner.

Apps for other cities too? See Sydney, Brisbane, Perth, Adelaide and the Gold Coast.

06of 8

Code, store accounts and keys: what a Tasmanian business should hold in its own name

Register these in your business's name and give developers access you can withdraw. Apple wants a D-U-N-S Number (free from Dun & Bradstreet), a legal entity (the registered company name shows as seller, not the name over your café door) and a public website on your own domain; Google Play organisation accounts need D-U-N-S too. A personal Play account opened after 13 November 2023 must first run a closed test with 12+ testers for 14 days, so recruit them in week one. Fees and commission: the national app cost page.

What should be in your business's name, and when to set it up (checked 6 Oct 2026)
ItemWhose nameSet up by whenWhy it matters
D-U-N-S NumberYour legal entityWeek oneBoth stores need it for organisation accounts
Apple Developer, organisationYour legal entity, enrolled by someone who can bind itOnce D-U-N-S arrivesIts legal name shows as seller; trading names aren't accepted
Google Play organisation accountYour legal entityOnce D-U-N-S arrivesHolds the listing, reviews and updates
Source repositoryYour businessBefore the first commitHolding it isn't enough: put the copyright assignment in the contract
Cloud hosting accountYour businessBefore live dataAsk which data region it will use
Domain and public websiteYour businessBefore Apple enrolmentApple requires a working site on your domain
Signing keys and certificatesYour store accountsFirst signed buildWhoever controls them controls updates
Admin loginsNamed staff; one login per developerDay oneA personal login can be switched off

Ask any developer, us included, to write this list into the contract.

07of 8

One app sprint seen from Hobart: afternoon planning, evening demo, test build next morning

Our day starts at 3:30pm Hobart time and runs past midnight, Monday to Saturday (10:00–19:00 in India), since Tasmania's clocks went forward on 4 October 2026: room for a planning call before you close and a demo after dinner. From 4 April 2027, under DPAC's first-Sunday rule, it shifts to 2:30pm–11:30pm AEST, with 2.5 hours of shared office time. The full hours table is on the Hobart city page.

  • Monday, around 4pm: planning call

    A video call before you close: we agree this sprint's screens and fixes, and you get the list in writing.

  • Weekday evenings: video review

    A recorded walkthrough or a call after dinner shows each feature running on a real device.

  • Sprint end: a test build on your phone

    At the end of each sprint, a build goes out via TestFlight on iPhone and Google Play internal testing on Android, ready to try the next morning. Send screenshots of anything wrong on WhatsApp.

  • Saturday: a working day

    Our week includes Saturday, so work carries on through your Saturday afternoon and evening.

  • How sprints add up to a launch

    Dr App publishes 1, 3 and 3–5+ months for its packages; our builds run 4–12 weeks. Sprint count is set in your quote with the milestones; start any Google closed test on an early build.

Nobody here is at a desk during your morning, so if you need a developer at 9am Hobart time, a studio in town fits better. Otherwise, book an evening scoping call on WhatsApp.

08of 8

City of Hobart grant and R&D Tax Incentive: two rules that decide who can build your app

Quoted from business.gov.au and the City's Feb 2026 guidelines; general information, not tax advice.

  • Digital Growth Program: up to $8,500, Hobart providers only

    The guidelines offer workshops, mentoring and up to $8,500 to an independently owned business in the Hobart local government area (LGA) turning over $45,000–$2 million, with fewer than 20 FTE, an active Tasmanian ABN and at least two workshops attended. Eligible spend covers websites, e-commerce, CRM, SEO, cyber security and similar; apps aren't named. And "Providers must be located within the Hobart LGA", so funded work can't go to us or any mainland or offshore team. Check with the City whether a round is open.

  • R&D Tax Incentive: an overseas finding comes first

    Spending on R&D done outside Australia only counts after a positive overseas finding. The work must support a core R&D activity in Australia and be impossible to do solely here for one of four allowable reasons: unavailable facilities, expertise or equipment; biosecurity; populations; or geography. A cheaper quote doesn't count: "financial reasons are insufficient". Overseas spend must also be less than the related Australian R&D spend.

  • Internal admin software is excluded; the offset rate

    Building software mainly for your own, or a connected entity's, internal administration falls outside core R&D: a job-logging app for a Glenorchy depot crew is unlikely to qualify, while a tour app sold to other operators might. Under $20 million aggregated turnover, the refundable offset is the corporate tax rate plus an 18.5% premium. If a claim is part of the plan, put the offshore question to a registered R&D adviser first.

Every hour we put into your app is worked in India, so any R&D claim on our share would be overseas expenditure, which needs a positive overseas finding before it can be claimed. If the grant or the incentive is central to your budget, a Hobart studio is probably the safer pick.

Pricing in AUD

Our prices for Hobart app projects

One fixed number per scope, never an hourly meter. Your screens and integrations decide where you sit in each band, and the quote names every screen so you can set it beside any Hobart quote.

  • Mobile app

    A$6,900 – A$43,000

    Excl. GST

    Mobile app (iOS + Android, Flutter or React Native) · Typical timeline: 4–12 weeks


    One Flutter or React Native codebase for iPhone and Android, published to both stores under your own accounts, with every screen named in the quote.

    Get a quote for this plan
  • Custom software, portal or SaaS

    The admin portal or web app behind your app: bookings, job boards, reports and users.

    A$9,800 – A$98,000

    Typical timeline: 6–16 weeks

    Get a quote for this →
  • Hosting, backups, monitoring and support

    Monthly upkeep after launch: hosting, and keeping the app current with new iOS and Android releases.

    A$80 – A$240 a month

    Ongoing, cancel any time

    Get a quote for this →
  • Custom restaurant POS + commission-free online ordering

    Optional, for hospitality only: commission-free online ordering and a POS on your own system.

    A$3,900 – A$23,500

    Typical timeline: 3–8 weeks

    Get a quote for this →
  • Fixed price in AUD
  • Free scoping call
  • No obligation

Your exact figure in each band, what your support tier covers and the payment milestones are confirmed in writing for your business before you sign.

Prices are in Australian dollars and do not include GST: Codingclave is an overseas (India-based) supplier and is not registered for Australian GST. If your business is GST-registered, check with your accountant whether the reverse-charge rules apply to imported services.

Fixed AUD quote

What’s the app for?

Send a few lines on WhatsApp or through the form, or forward a quote you already hold. Ashish replies with the questions that fix your scope, then a fixed AUD quote in writing listing the screens, milestones and weeks.

Ashish Sharma

Founder, Codingclave

Ashish or the team will reply on WhatsApp or email within one business day.

Prefer WhatsApp?

WhatsApp Ashish

Tell us about your business

  • Free scoping call
  • Fixed price in AUD
  • No obligation

Your details go only to Codingclave's team in India so we can reply — see our privacy policy. Prefer chat? WhatsApp us.

How it works

How a Hobart app project runs with us

Start on WhatsApp
  1. Send the brief, or a quote you hold

    WhatsApp (message or video call) or the form: what the app does, who uses it, plus any screens or another studio's quote.

  2. A written fixed AUD quote

    Screens by name, features, milestones and timeline, ready to set beside any Hobart quote.

  3. Accounts in your name

    D-U-N-S, Apple, Google Play and a repository your business owns, before building starts.

  4. Sprints with evening demos

    A video walkthrough in your evening, then a test build on your phone at each sprint's end.

  5. Store submission, then optional support

    Submitted under your accounts; support afterwards is A$80–A$240 a month if wanted.

FAQ

Questions Australians ask us

Can’t see yours? Ask Ashish directly — you’ll get a straight answer, not a sales script.

Ask Ashish directly

Ask on WhatsApp

How much would it cost to have someone develop an app in Hobart?

Dr App's packages, the only app price list on Hobart's page one, are $3,300, $11,000 and $27,500 including GST ($3,000, $10,000 and $25,000 without it). The independent whatsthedamage guide puts a Hobart MVP at $15,000–$60,000. We quote iOS + Android at A$6,900–A$43,000, fixed in writing for the screens named in the quote; hosting, store fees and support come on top.

How much does it cost to hire a mobile app developer in Hobart by the hour?

Dr App charges $80 an hour for changes after completion, and whatsthedamage puts Hobart development at $100–$250 an hour, for web work generally. Most Hobart studios publish no rate. We don't bill hours: one fixed AUD price covers a defined scope, and anything added later gets its own written price before work starts. If you do hire by the hour, ask for a written cap.

Who can I hire to build an app for my Hobart business?

By their own sites on 6 October 2026, Ionata and Getbusi (Davey St), my IT studio (Liverpool St) and Digital Ink (Kelly St) have Hobart addresses, and Dr App lists 162 Macquarie St. Tazzy Apps sells a template builder for single venues, and Airtasker brings freelancer bids you compare yourself. We are a remote team in Lucknow, India, quoting one fixed price for a defined scope.

Do I need an app developer based in Hobart?

Only in four cases: you want discovery workshops in person, the buyer is a Tasmanian Government agency or council whose procurement may weigh local suppliers, you plan to use City of Hobart Digital Growth Program funding, or the build is R&D-heavy and you will claim the R&D Tax Incentive. Otherwise a remote developer can work well, provided the scope is written down, you hold the accounts, and evening video calls suit you.

How long does it take to build an app in Hobart?

Dr App publishes about 1 month for five screens, 3 months for a job-management app and 3–5+ months for native builds. We quote 4–12 weeks for iOS + Android from one codebase. Add time for store set-up: a D-U-N-S Number for an organisation account, or 14 days of closed testing with 12+ testers on a Google Play personal account opened after 13 November 2023.

Are Hobart app developer prices quoted including GST?

It varies. Dr App's published prices include GST, whatsthedamage's Hobart guide doesn't say, and most studios publish nothing. Our prices carry no GST, because we are an overseas supplier not registered for Australian GST. If your business is GST-registered, compare figures ex-GST and ask your accountant whether the reverse charge applies to an imported service. If you're not registered, the 10% on a local invoice is a real cost.

Who owns the source code and the App Store account for a Hobart business's app?

You should. Open the Apple Developer and Google Play organisation accounts in your legal entity's name, which needs a D-U-N-S Number (free from Dun & Bradstreet). Keep the code repository and cloud account in your business's name, give each developer a login you can switch off, and have the contract assign copyright in the code to you. Template platforms may have different terms, so ask.

Can a City of Hobart grant or the R&D Tax Incentive pay for an app built overseas?

Unlikely. The City's Digital Growth Program offers up to $8,500 to small Hobart LGA businesses, but apps aren't named in the eligible spend and providers must be inside the Hobart LGA. The R&D Tax Incentive covers overseas work only after a positive overseas finding, financial reasons are insufficient, and software built mainly for internal administration is excluded. Check with the City and an R&D adviser first.

Ashish Sharma · Founder

Tell us what your app does. Get a fixed AUD price, screen by screen

Send a few lines on WhatsApp or through the form, or forward a quote you already hold. Ashish replies with the questions that fix your scope, then a fixed AUD quote in writing listing the screens, milestones and weeks.

  1. WhatsApp us or fill in the form
  2. Free scoping call
  3. Fixed AUD quote, no obligation